Government >> Boards & Committees


Museum and Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee

By-Law No. 35-12

Purpose: This committee will promote awareness of Fort Erie’s cultural heritage within and outside the boundaries of the Town focusing on Museum Services and Built Heritage.

Duties and Responsibilities: To provide advice and recommendations for the purposes of policy and plan development, and conservation of built heritage and heritage trees, and will act as public advocates in support of the Statements of Purpose for delivery of Museum Services and Built Heritage and Heritage Trees in accordance with the Ontario Heritage Act and By-law No. 171-06 "To Establish Heritage Tree Criteria of Fort Erie" as amended or superceded from time to time.

Composition: Minimum of five (5), maximum of nine (9) members, one of whom shall be a Member of Council. Chair and 2 Vice-Chairs.


  1. David Ellswoth
  2. Roxann MacKay Burton
  3. Mary McLelland-Papp
  4. Charlene Ann Nigh
  5. Keith Ratcliffe
  6. Sandra Vilchez
  7. Carole Walpole
  8. Christopher Riou
  9. Councillor Butler

Meeting Schedule: All meetings are held on the 3rd Monday of the month at 10:00 a.m., as set out below and unless otherwise noted.
Museum and Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee (MCHAC) meet in January, April, July and October at the Historical Museum.
Museum Services Standing Committee (MSSC) meeting in January, April, July and October at the Historical Museum.
Municipal Heritage Standing Committee (MHSC) meet in February, March, May, June, September and November at Town Hall.

Other Comments: Please make note of three areas of history that you are interested in, as part of your application.

Contact Information:
Staff Liaison (MHSC): â€‹Pieter Wasserman, Neighbourhood Planner/Urban Designer 
at 905-871-1600, ext. 2503

Staff Liaison (MSSC): Jane Davies, Museum Curator at 905-894-5322

Link: Fort Erie Museum