

# PUBLIC NOTICE 2018 MUNICIPAL & SCHOOL BOARD ELECTIONS

### **Important Information for Candidates**

Amendments made to the Municipal Elections Act, 1996 will affect the timing and process of the 2018 Municipal Election to be held October 22, 2018. Those wishing to be a candidate for election are advised to note the following.

#### **Nomination Period**

Anyone who wishes to be a candidate must file a Nomination Paper. The nomination period will begin **May 1, 2018 and end on July 27, 2018 at 2 p.m.** Nomination Papers must be obtained and filed with the Regional or Municipal Clerk by **2 p.m., July 27, 2018**.

#### **Nomination Procedures**

- The Nomination Paper must be accompanied by a filing fee in cash, certified cheque, debit or money order payable to the Region or appropriate Area Municipality, in the amount of:
  - \$200 for the Office of the Regional Chair or Mayor
  - \$100 for the Office of Regional Councillor, Municipal Councillor or School Board Trustee
- NEW Each Nomination Paper (excluding School Board Trustee candidates) must be endorsed by 25 eligible voters supporting the nomination.
- **NEW** Each candidate must provide proof of Canadian citizenship when filing their Nomination Paper.

### Direct Election of the Regional Chair and Filing Nomination Paper

For the first time in Niagara, the Regional Chair will be directly elected in the 2018 Municipal Election by general vote.

## Where to file your Nomination Paper

Nomination Papers for the **Office of Regional Chair** will be received by the **Regional Clerk** during the nomination period at the Office of the Clerk, Regional Headquarters, 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold, Ontario.

Nominations for the following offices will be received by the **Office of the Clerk** in your local Municipality:

- Mayor
- Regional Councillor(s)
- Municipal Councillors
- School Board Trustees

Dated this 14th day of December 2017.

For further information, please contact the Regional Clerk or your Municipal Clerk.

Published jointly by the Regional Clerk and the Clerks of the Area Municipalities in Niagara.

NIAGARA REGION | FORT ERIE . GRIMSBY. LINCOLN. NIAGARA FALLS. NIAGARA-ON-THE-LAKE. Pelham. Port Colborne. St. Catharines. Thorold. Wainfleet. Welland. West Lincoln.